Shorts presents news briefs about current and forthcoming programs, events, exhibits and activities of historical and cultural institutions in Pennsylvania.

“A Patchwork of Pennsylvania” at The State Museum of Pennsylvania, Saturday, June 7 [1997], will explore the state’s quilt heritage. Harrisburg quilt makers will explain the materials and demonstrate the techniques of the craft. Visitors may meet and lunch with Lucinda Cawley, Lorraine Ezbiansky, and Denise Nordberg, authors of the book, Saved for the People of Pennsyl­vania: Quilts from The State Museum of Pennsylvania which will debut at the event. A presentation, “Making the Cut,” conveys their experience of writing the book, and a book signing will follow. Adding her expertise, Yvonne J. Milspaw will discuss “A Social and Cultural History of Pennsylvania Quilts.” Hours are 10 A.M. to 2 P.M. For further information, write: The State Museum of Pennsylvania, Third and North Streets, P.O. Box 1026, Harrisburg, PA 17108-1026; or telephone (717) 787-4979. Admission is charged.


Muster Day will be celebrated Saturday, June 7 [1997], from 10 AM. to 4 P.M. at the Peter Wentz Farmstead in Worcester. The public will have the opportunity to tour the residence which was home to the prosperous eighteenth-century German farmer and headquarters to General George Washington in September and October of 1777 as he marched his army to and from the Battle of Germantown. Visitors may also experience various aspects of eighteenth-century culture as they discover Pennsylvania German arts and crafts through hands-on demonstrations by craftspeople arrayed in period attire, observe the militia drill, and learn the processes of early flax culture. For further information, write: Peter Wentz Farmstead, P.O. Box 240, Worcester, PA 19490; or telephone (610) 584-5104. Admission is free.


On Saturday, April 12 [1997], the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission and the Bushy Run Battlefield Heritage Society will host the grand opening of the newly renovated Visitor Center and its new permanent exhibit, “The March to Bushy Run,” at Bushy Run Battlefield. This exhibit features an interactive fiber optics map of the battle, a video illustrating actions of the Bushy Run battle, and a special section on the early history of the battlefield as a recognized historic site. Highlighting the day’s events will be the unveiling of the new painting, The Battle of Bushy Run, by renowned historical artist Robert Griffing. For admission information, write: Bushy Run Battlefield, P.O. Box 468, Harrison City, PA 15636; or telephone (412) 527-5584. Visiting hours 10 A.M. to 5 P.M.


The weekend of June 7-8 [1997] the Mid-Atlantic Air Museum at the Reading Regional Airport will transport visitors back in time as fifty World War II aircraft, sixty restored military vehicles, and more than two hundred living history reenactors and performers join together to re-create the sights, sounds, and feel of a World War II airfield. Event highlights include B-17 Memphis Belle pilot Robert Morgan, and Colonel David Pergrin, the commander of the Army Combat Engineers battalion which stopped the major thrust of the German Army during the Battle of the Bulge. World War II aircraft rides and other flying activities will be available throughout the event. Hours are Saturday, 9 A.M. to 10 P.M.; and Sunday, 8:30 A.M. to 5 P.M. For additional information, write: Mid-Atlantic Air Museum, Reading Regional Airport, 11 Museum Dx., Reading, PA 19605; or telephone (610) 372-7333. Admission is charged.


“Our Voices: African American Genealogy Workshops,” sponsored by Center in the Park and funded by the Pennsylvania Humanities Council, will be offered at Germantown Historical Society, Philadelphia, on Thursdays, April 10, 17, and 24 [1997], at 1:30 P.M. Participants will learn the process of genealogical research and about available materials. For further details or registration, write: Pennsylvania Humanities Council, 320 Walnut St., Suite 305, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3892; or telephone (215) 848-7722.


Celebrate two hundred and seventy-five years of history and enjoy Scottish heritage and traditions at Graeme Park, Horsham, through music, dance, special exhibits, and food on Sunday, July 20 [1997], from noon until 4 P.M. The Keith House, the only surviving residence of a colonial Pennsylvania governor, is also open for tours. For further information, write: Friends of Graeme Park, 859 County Line Rd., Horsham, PA 19044; or telephone (215) 343-0965. Admission is charged.


“The American Circus in Miniature” will be on view at Hershey Museum beginning Saturday, May 10 [1997], and continuing through the summer. Numbering nearly one thousand figures, the three-ring masterpiece in miniature has been created with great care for authenticity by Bill and Nancy Cooker. Circus wagons, trains, and cages have been painstakingly crafted to scale. Also exhibited will be the Cookers’ lifetime collection of circus memorabilia, including old lithographs, programs, wardrobe, and outstanding photographs dating as far back as the early twentieth century. For further details, write: Hershey Museum, 170 West Hersheypark Dr., Hershey, PA 17033; or telephone (717) 534-3439. The exhibit is free with museum admission.


Sponsored by the Harmonie Associates, with the cooperation of the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, the Children’s Day Festival will take place at Old Economy Village on Sunday, June 15 [1997], from noon to 5 P.M. This event will promote educational fun for children by encouraging hands-on activities at all demonstrations. Children may practice nineteenth-century crafts, such as making candles and band boxes, hammering nails or sitting on a snitzelbunk (shaving horse) to carve wood, they may also enjoy nineteenth-century children’s entertainment and sample their favorite food. For more details write: Old Economy Village, Fourteenth and Church Sts., Ambridge, PA 15003; or telephone (412) 266-1803. There is an admission charge.


The Athenaeum of Philadelphia will mark the sesquicen­tennial of the Mexican War (1845-1848) with an exhibition from its library’s collection of prints, books, and maps-many of which were acquired in the mid-1840s at the time of their publication. The exhibition opens Monday, April 14 [1997], the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the day of celebration declared by the Select Council of the City of Philadelphia following the Battle of Buena Vista. The exhibit will be held in the F. Otto and Dorothy W. Haas Gallery and will continue through August 29. For additional information, write: The Athenaeum of Philadelphia, 219 South Sixth Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106; or telephone (215) 925-2688. Admission is free.


Reading Railroad Weekend, July 4-6 [1997], at the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania will feature a large operating HO model and layout re-creating scenes from the Reading Railroad, special tours, souvenirs and collectibles, and opportunities to talk with Reading Railroad Company employees and veteran railroaders. Hours are Friday and Saturday, 9 A.M to 7 P.M., and Sunday, noon to 7 P.M. For more details, write: Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania, P.O. Box 15, Strasburg, PA 17579; or telephone (717) 687-8628. There is an admission fee.