Maple Sugar Camp Replica at Somerset Historical Center

Sharing the Common Wealth showcases objects, artifacts, documents, structures and buildings from the collections of PHMC.

By 1850 farmers in Somerset County were producing more than 370,000 pounds of maple sugar yearly, and by the 1880s they had increased production to more than one million pounds annually, accounting for nearly half of maple sugar made in Pennsylvania. Based on extensive research of the county’s sugar maple camps, the somerset Historical Center, one of two dozen historic sites and museums administered by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (PHMC) along the Pennsylvania trails of History®, painstakingly constructed a historically accurate replica of a mid-nineteenth-century sugar camp in 1992. Using materials and building techniques appropriate to the period, staff members replaced an earlier building but incorporated genuine sugar camp objects and artifacts collected by Elizabeth and Earl Ogle Haupt who were determined to preserve the remnants of the region’s early rural and agrarian life. (The couple’s collection formed the nucleus of the center’s exhibits.) Somerset Historical Center welcomes visitors as PHMC is observing “The Land of Penn and Plenty: Bringing History to the Table” as its annual theme for 2012.